If Only You Knew.

Maybe you’re the one that wants so desperately to love and be loved that you would do anything to stay with someone.

Maybe you’re the one that tries so hard to get people to like you, that you’ve lost sight of who you are.

Maybe you’re the one that is always there for your friends but when you need THEM they don’t care.

Maybe you’re the one who feels as though you’re nothing but a mess. Everything is out of control…you want to fix it in a few simple steps, but its never that easy.

Maybe you only look back on your life with sorrow, because you feel as though they were the best years of your life and there’s no turning back from mistakes you’ve made.

Maybe you’re the one that has preached about God’s love countless times, but if you’re honest it seems as if deep inside you’ve never actually felt it for yourself.

You try so hard. On the outside other may perceive you as perfect. But on the inside you are hanging on by a thread.

You call out to God, but what once seemed so easy to grasp, is now just a fog.

You don’t feel important. Nobody really cares about you. All the smiles shot your way are filled with shallow “How are you’s” and dim-lit eyes.

You’re surrounded by “perfect people” and it bothers you. You know these people have problems too…you’re not stupid. But for some reason you still feel inadequate standing next to them, or scrolling through their instagram or facebook.

You’re broken.

You’re tired.

You’re done.

Oh. if only you knew the way you ravish God’s heart. In Song of Solomon 4:9, it literally says God’s heart beat is accelerated with one glance of your eyes. He is captivated with YOU.

Not enough?

YOU are God’s temple.

“Do you not know that you are God’s temple and that God’s SPIRIT DWELLS IN YOU? If anyone destroys God’s temple, God will destroy him. For God’s temple is holy, and you are that temple.” 1 Corinthians 3:16

YOU are God’s possession. He RESCUED you.

“For you were BOUGHT WITH A PRICE.” 1 Corinthians 6:20

YOU are Beloved.

“But we ought always give thanks to God for you, brothers beloved by the Lord, because God chose you as the firstfruits to be saved, through sanctification by the spirit and belief in truth.” 2 Thessalonians 2:13

YOU have been set free from sin/condemnation.

“There is therefore now NO condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus. For the law of the Spirit of life has set you free in Christ Jesus from the law of sin and death.” Romans 8:1-2

YOU have been set free from Satan’s Control.

“He has delivered us from the domain of darkness and transferred us to the kingdom of his beloved son, in whom we have redemption.” Colossians 1:13

YOU were chosen before the foundation of the world.

“Even as he chose us in him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and blameless before him.

YOU have been given the Holy Spirit.

“And who has also put his seal on us and given us his spirit in our hearts as a guarantee.” 2 Corinthians 1:22

YOU are complete in him.

“And you have been filled in him, who is the head of all rule and authority.” Colossians 2:10

YOU cannot be separated from God’s love.

“Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or danger, or sword…..for I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Romans 8:35-39

YOU are a conqueror.

“No, In all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.” Romans 8:37

YOU are not helpless.

“God is faithful, he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it.”

YOU have a living hope.

“Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! According to his great mercy, he has caused us to be born again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead..”1peter1:3

YOU have access to the father

“Through him we have obtained access by faith into this grace in which we stand, and we rejoice in hope of the glory of God.” Romans 5:2

You have an anchor to your soul

“We have this as a sure and steadfast anchor of the soul, a hope that enters into the inner place behind the curtain, where Jesus has gone as a forerunner on our behalf..”Hebrews 6:19

YOU ARE BEING SANCTIFED. What does this mean? This means that you are being made perfect. Made holy. Sanctified literally means “set apart as or declare holy.”

Jesus didn’t die for you so you could be “a little less messy” or “a little more happy”. Jesus died for you so you could be completely free, completely whole, completely full of joy, completely content, completely full of his spirit.

“Therefore, if any man be in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has gone. The New has come.” 2 Corinthians 5:17

“For this is the will of God, your sanctification.” 1 Thessalonians 4:3

“For by a single offering he has perfected for all time those who are being sanctified.” Hebrews 10:14

“You were washed, you were sanctified, you were justified in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and by the Spirit of our God.” 1 Corinthians 6:11

So to the boyfriend/girlfriend who treats you like you’re a play toy, or a second option, or like you have to constantly impress them…LEAVE THEM. Call them and tell them you don’t like them.

So to the voice in your head that gives you a list of ways you need to improve for God to love you more or be more proud of you…REBUKE IT.

So when SOCIETY tell you you’re not pretty enough, smart enough, or GOOD ENOUGH, YOU tell SOCIETY that YOU are a CHILD of the KING of the UNIVERSE.

So when SOCIETY points to your WEAKNESSES, you say “YES! I’M WEAK! But God’s power is made PERFECT in my WEAKNESS”

So when you feel lonely and left out when people don’t invite you places, YOU are NEVER ALONE because GOD LITERALLY NEVER LEAVES YOU!

So when that cranky lady gives you some attitude for no reason, LOVE her ANYWAYS.

So when you feel like there’s no hope, YOU say, MY GOD is my hope. My strength. My joy. My ever-present help in time of need.

Oh. If only you could see the way God sees you. The way he cherishes your every glance. The way he specifically and beautifully molds the paths of your life to lavish you in his love. The way you are redeemed, given a hope, given everlasting joy, and given a life that doesn’t worry about tomorrow.

He’s made you new.

If only you knew.

36 thoughts on “If Only You Knew.

  1. Beautiful. God is infinite and impossible for us to fully fathom, as ants cannot fathom the ways of man! But His Word is his ability to reach us, for He is the author of our faith! Praise God. In response to “Anonymous”, the one who very lovingly and considerately included all non-believers in the hope of relief from the horrible biochemical, (physical), and emotional turmoil that comes from self-esteem, thank you. You may never see this, but I believe, if you need to, God will be sure you see this. We respect your beliefs too in your journey of life as does God. He says “Come as you ar. I only ask, if I’m not out of line, if you have ever considered this: What if, beyond the shadow of a doubt, Jesus were to come to you, take you into the past and show you man’s history, prophecy, His death, resurrection and those very dark 3 days between his death and resurrection from the dead? What if you saw Him supernaturally to take on all of the evil in the world from every human and remove evil from us and from the equation of life by offering to forgive everyone who asks and seeks to change and be free anything? What if he said, ‘This world is passing away; science proves it, I have said it. In the end, you will need me to help you make it out of this place that is circling the drain to prevent you from descending into eternal darkness and you will stay in the light forever with me; no more dying, no more pain, no more sorrow, no more waiting for elusive tomorrows, just pure love, peace and fellowship with our loved ones and all of our brothers and sisters, all of mankind. Darkness will be shed forever and you will be able to be in the presence of God in paradise forever.” Would you follow? He gave us this right. He will not force us. He is that friend offering friendship, that annoying neighbor who stands at his door when you walk by asking you to come in for a visit and you are not sure you want to know this stranger; that presence that somehow brings you peace every time you protect another from harm or hurt, every time you are patient, kind, forgiving, honest, trusting, hopeful and more. His capacity to love is so much greater than our own, He will make his presence known and offer His hand throughout your life. I am not preaching to you dear brother/sister of the human race; I am not trying to preach to you. Hopefully, I am effectively sharing with you exactly who I know God to be in my life through my eyes, and of course there is SO much more. His reality and presence are as familiar as that of a best friend who accepts and loves you everyday and you somehow know, that will never change. He loves us as we are and I feel that everyday and everywhere when I am not too distracted with the daily chores of life that demand my attention. Anna’s blog is another sharing of that walk with Him. He is the real father of us all which unites us. It might be uncomfortable to read this much passion about something you don’t believe in, and for that, I apologize. My purpose is not to make you feel less or uncomfortable, you’re not. He would die all over for you alone and still allow you to choose to follow and trust Him or not. This is the love people seek and the hope, yes some find on many levels through Psychotherapy; I hope you will consider the possibility, that behind the love humans feel, God pours it out for all of us to have. If in doubt that you are not fully satisfied, I hope you will consider the God who holds one part of your heart that only He can make whole. Live, love, laugh and hope! I appreciate and honor those who respect my right to choose as well. Thank you ANONYMOUS.
    And PS to THESHAZBOT- yes Koistinen is Finish- but rumor has it we were supposed to be Seppanen’s, LOL! Thank you all for the space here to express my love for God, not perfect, but ok with Him. May Christ bless all of our journies!

  2. fantastic put up, very informative. I wonder why the opposite experts of this sector do not understand
    this. You must proceed your writing. I am sure,
    you’ve a great readers’ base already!

  3. Actually my comment here is not be the point of the article, but i’d like to point out that bloggers or anyone who wants to discuss issues from a christian perspective should get informed and have a biblical understanding before they do so. Who says the bible doesn’t promise “us girls husbands” according to her third paragraph? I doubt if this lady studies the same bible i do cos Isaiah 34:16 states “..not one of these prophecies shall fail, none shall want and lack her mate”. If this isn’t a promise, I dont know what else to call it. I feel it is important for people not to mislead others with their own opinions of what they consider to be right.

  4. An interesting post, I expect most people have felt these things to some extent or the other. Thank you for reminding us that we have everything in Jesus.

  5. Thank you so much for this! It described my feelings exactly! I want to encourage you and thank you for your encouraging words to me! Thank you so much! 🙂

  6. This was beautiful. One of my friends posted your blog post about boys being righteous also (Which was AMAZING). And then I just happened to come upon this one. This one just really spoke out to me. There are so many times when I think… I’m not pretty enough… No one cares about me. I know God loves me. But to see someone else who is around my age out this into words for me to read was even more relieving. Like WOW I’m not the only one who has these feelings. You described my feelings perfectly. Thank you. I will go to bed more happy and whole-feeling because of this beautiful post. ❤

  7. Thank you for writing both this, and your other blog post. Not only are you a fantastic writer, but you also have amazing insight. I thank God for showing me your blog; I really need it. I will definitely be back to see what else God inspires you to share 🙂

  8. Thank you for writing this. Your words speak for so many, including myself. I hope you know just how truly amazing you are.
    God bless.

  9. I saw this post on Facebook and the first few lines drew me in. I have felt those feelings of insecurities and inferiority almost my entire life. However, I wanted to start a conversation about alternative answers to these problems, besides turning to a God for comfort and acceptance. I’m nonreligious (but I respect people of all religious backgrounds) and I am not looking to convert to Christianity or any other religion. The types of feelings self-esteem issues you are discussing here are widespread — for people with and without religious beliefs. Counseling and therapy are very effective in helping people overcome insecurities, raising self-esteem, and even preventing or treating more serious problems such as depression. While I know many people who get so much strength from their faith, there are also many people that find no consolation in the Bible.
    I apologize in advance for those that will take this post offensively. But there is help for us all, with God or without him. I don’t think there is anything wrong with turning to God when times are rough. But I wanted to make sure that anyone reading this that still feels unloved, unwanted, or unimportant that God may be the answer for some people, but it is not the only answer. Don’t be afraid to seek help if you really need it.

    1. Please don’t take this the wrong way, I say this with the utmost respect and courtesy, but Jesus said he is the only way, the only answer. I’m a Christian and while I haven’t always been an exemplar of godly behavior I feel that Christ is the only way, for everyone. Please believe me when I say I’m not trying to shove my religion or faith down your throat! I’m honestly just trying to let you know that I will be praying for you and your salvation by the One True God! 🙂

  10. An interesting post and I’m curious about the inspiration? I did a similar exercise on identity (http://thesameimage.wordpress.com/about/) for myself. I posted the results and I’m wondering if that was the impetus for this writing or if it was externally-geared piece from the beginning?

    Also, if you do read this comment: Koistinen, is that a Finnish last name? (My mom’s Finnish, and we lived there for ~5 years. Just curious.)

  11. And what about when you’ve spent a long time pouring out for others and you come up empty? And you don’t get refilled? When home and church, places for rejuvenation and rest, are dull and drag more out of you that you don’t have?
    I’ve been involved in a Christian disaster relief organization for two years, the past six months in a junior leadership position. My responsibilities drained me physically, mentally, and spiritually. For over a month now, I’ve been feeling lost. I get nothing from daily reading. Church sermons hold no encouragement. I’m broken down and trying to just stay with Jesus and not walk away.
    I don’t mean to complain. Thank you for your post, it was encouraging. As a brother in Christ, I feel comfortable asking anyone who reads this to pray for me. Keep on being Radical in a world of conformists. -Nathan

    1. Maybe you need to step down from the Christian disaster relief organization and other involvements. My best friend’s mother was heavily involved in her church. She lead women’s bible studies etc. I don’t know the extent, except that she wore herself thin. She became drained physically, mentally, and spiritually. It got so bad that she quit Jesus altogether. There’s a lot more that goes into the story, but something I do know is that my friend’s mom focused so heavily on serving God that she did not rest at His feet.
      Luke 10:38-42 talks about Jesus visiting the home of Martha and Mary. At my school we have looked over this passage a couple times and you have probably read it. I just want to encourage you to rest at the feet of Jesus and take a step back. I had a season where I felt very apathetic towards everything, and it was one of the most frustrating times of my life. I would’ve rather been angry at God, because then at least I could’ve handed Him my honest feelings. It is definitely hard, but please keep pushing on in Jesus. Don’t be involved in things that are killing you. Sometimes you need a break. Like Martha, don’t be preoccupied by all of the preparations and things that need to be made. Jesus tells Martha, “you are worried and upset about many things, 42 but few things are needed—or indeed only one. Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.” I promise that if you rest in His eternal presence, He will make Himself known to you. Sometimes I like how the message words verses. Psalm 119:114 states “You’re my place of quiet retreat; I wait for your Word to renew me.” I love this verse, because Jesus is my place of quiet retreat. We need to be refilled and refreshed by Him before we can efficiently serve God in the church. Not that this means total separation from church involvement, but if I were you I would at least take a good break from ministry. We all need breaks. We all need rest. Sometimes we need so much to rest at the feet of God than to do things for Him. Hebrews 10:19-39 is sectioned in my Bible as “A Call to Persevere in Faith.” I love v.22-23, because it mentions our bodies being washed with pure water. This is a picture of internal cleansing. Once cleansed, we can approach God. It is important to be reminded that under the new covenant, our hearts are cleansed completely, so that we can approach Him. He wants your still heart so badly. He wants all of you. He made our scarlet sin as white as snow, so that we could be with Him.

      “Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful.” Hebrews 10:23

      Read this article – http://issuu.com/relevantmagazine/docs/rlv_issue65_web/58
      It is about the lead singer of Hillsong United, Joel Houston, who took a break from ministry, because he was struggling with feeling apathetic, empty, and dry. It reminds me of your circumstances.

      What I love the most is what this guy said about Joel’s break from ministry: he didn’t see his break as stepping away from ministry, but rather as him taking what matters most – the state of his soul and his passion for Jesus – as seriously as he could.

      I am praying for you Nathan. Your words are encouraging to read. I am so glad you are continuing to seek God. God bless you.

  12. Thank you for your heart in grafting this. The only reason I’m saying this is because this is the type of post that will most likely go viral. I highly recommend that you change the photo of yourself at the beginning of those post. You’re talking about modesty and *some people could be offended with that photo. Please don’t be offended, I just want to save you from people that could be very rude and harsh in the way that they tell you. 😐

    ~you’re sister 🙂

  13. WOW. *jaw drops* I have been feeling like that for years. Like I’m not good enough and I won’t ever be good enough. I tell myself that God loves me but sometimes I don’t feel it. Thank you for writing this I really needed this.

      1. YOU WERE INSPIRED BY THE HOLY SPIRIT TO SPEAK THE TRUTH ON THE ISSUES EVERYONE IS EXPERIENCING TODAY AND THE CHALLENGE IS ALWAYS GOING TO BE ARE WE LIVING WHAT WE PREACH.I BELIEVE FINDING JESUS IS NOT A FEELING ITS A PRESENCE,A PRESENCE OF A PERSON BEFORE US, A RELATIONSHIP WITH JESUS THAT NEEDS TO LIVE WITHIN US SO THAT WE MAY BECOME A WITNESS TO HIS PRESENCE. WE MUST FIRST FORGET ABOUT SELF, BECAUSE SELF IS THE DESTRUCTION OF ANYONE AND ANY FAMILY. JESUS SAID THERE IS NO GREATER MAN THAN TO GIVE HIS LIFE FOR ANOTHER,AND THAT ELIMINATES SELF MY BODY FOR YOUR BODY. SO, AS SUCH BETWEEN A HUSBAND AND A WIFE AND THE TWO BECOME ONE UNDER GOD.

Leave a Reply

