The Hardest Thing to Accept About God

I write this post to me as much as I am writing it to you. Because no matter how much I tell myself I understand this, I know it is against my human nature to actually live in it.

You know how you believe things in your head, but for some reason it can’t seem to go down to your heart? This is one of those issues.

I need this post.

Becasue I worry. I worry a lot.

Heck, people just worry a lot.

“Which major do I pick? What will my job be? What am I going to do with my life? How will I leave my mark in this world? How will I live up to what people think of me? Should I be in a sorority? And if so, which one?”

So much of my life is spent on worrying about decisions I have to make. What a waste.

What I worry about the most is relationships.

The dreaded question that haunts and terrorizes every girl:

“Is he the one?”

This is the question that tears me apart. Because I want an immediate answer. If he is not the one, I don’t want to waste my time on him. I don’t want to hurt him. And I don’t want to get so emotionally involved that I become blinded to the fact I may be with someone who isn’t God’s best for me. This questioon has such good intentions, but it infects every relationship with anxiety. At least it has for me. It strips me of my joy. Instead of enjoying my time getting to know someone, I worry about the future.

Page after page in my journal is me begging God to give me immediate answers about what to do with my life.

“God, just show me the way!!!”

WHY do we do that?

 I would argue its because we don’t trust that God is going to guide us.

We think that everything is up to us.

We don’t believe we can hear his voice and discern it.

This is an issue that runs deep in every Christian.

Listen to me. This is a heart issue so much bigger than in the realm of relationships. This is an issue that infects your life. It slowly and surely bleeds into every area and before you know it you start becoming anxious about anything and everything. Before you know it, you no longer have peace.

And Digging this up and analyzing it is the most freeing thing you can do.

The hardest thing to accept about God is not that He hates sin. Its not that He is powerful. Its not that He is alive and works miracles today. It is not that there is a hell. It is not that He allows bad things to happen to good people, it is that HIS GRACE COVERS US.

There is nothing you can do where God won’t be constantly covering you with His grace.

He is faithful to do a work in you.

If you went out tonight and did the worst possible thing you could think of and asked for forgiveness tomorrow (truly and sincerely, repenting and turning from sin), God would completely and wholly forgive you and then use it for good in the end. Yours and His.

“For we know in all things, God works for the good of those who love him and have been called according to his purpose. FOR those whom he foreknew, he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, in order that he might be the firstborn among many brothers. And those whom he predestined he also called, and those whom he called he also justified, and those whom he justified he also glorified.” Romans 8:28-30

Do you hear that? You could rape and murder an entire family, blow up a building and then curse God, and you would be forgiven if you asked for it. If that makes you upset or uncomfortable in the slightest, that’s good. Because that means you see the absurdity of it all.

“The law came in to increase the trespass, but where sin increased, grace abounded all the more, so that, as sin reigned in death, grace also might reign through righteousness leading to eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.”

God’s grace is absurd.

And yet we live in constant fear that these life decisions like relationships and majors and what job we take are going to mess everything up.

Are these important? Absolutely. Will they determine whether God is for you or not? NO.

Whatever you do, wherever you go, God’s grace covers you. He is working for his glory through you. When you choose to follow Jesus with your whole heart, it doesn’t matter what you do, God will work all things for good.

And that is very hard to accept.

But its time that we walk in the freedom that grace offers.

The same grace that gives us eternal life with God is the same grace that we walk in every day. That is extremely powerful.

Will it always be pretty and easy? No.

Will we make mistakes? Absolutely.

Will we have consequences for mistakes? Probably.

But you will be covered.

“But by the grace of God I am what I am, and his grace toward me was not in vain. On the contrary, I worked harder than any of them though it was not I, but the grace of God that is with me.” 1 Cor. 15:10

That means that no matter what road you choose, which boyfriend or girlfriend you choose, which major you choose, which college you choose, which job you choose, which house you choose, which person you choose to disciple, which church you choose,  God will be there to guide you, love you, teach you, and work it beautifully for your good in the end. Whether He leads you to somewhere or something else, or whether that is exactly where you need to be.

Stop thinking that you’re in ultimate control. God gives us the ability to choose what we will, but yet for some strange reason that is beyond our understanding, He is FAITHFUL to use those things for both His and our good. He is soverign.

Take a deep breath. (That means you too Anna)

This grace offered so abundantly and absurdly is costly. It cost Jesus his life.

Live in it. Embrace it. Rejoice in it. He is so so so good.

What do we recieve when we embrace this grace? Peace. Peace beyond understanding.

“Peace is the fruit of Grace.” 

Live in peace today and forever. He is sovereign. Thank you God.

https://www.facebook.com/bemalleable

24 thoughts on “The Hardest Thing to Accept About God

  1. You are focusing way too much on Grace. Nothing goes without consequence, without reactionary effects from our choices. Yes everything happens for a reason and is put to a reason. But repentance is key with grace. if you are a fool that keeps sinning and returning to your vomit then you will have to answer and pay for that in this life and when you meet God. grace is not meant for us to continue sinning Because we want to learn through trial and error. Still our testimony can be useful but comes down to the time we wasted here on sinful ways. Sin does not create a flourishing life.

  2. Also, three verses before the verse you are quoting with an improper view of context there lies this gem: “Brothers and sisters, do not slander one another.”

    1. You guys aren’t my brothers or sisters because you do not follow Christ. If you did, you would know how damaging the original blog would be. Instead, you are enraged by “formality” and “manners”

      In her post, she deliberately falsifies what grace is. She makes it a prosperity type of grace which Jesus himself is vehemently against. SHE LIES ABOUT WHAT GRACE REALLY IS.That is the greater sin here, buddy. God does not care REALLY about your earthly matters like your job, marriage, etc.

      He is much more concerned about where you will go when you die. You do know that eternity is FOREVER right? Even is you pick the wrong major, don’t get married and get the worst job possible. If you make it to heaven, you are a clear WINNER.

      But if you live a great life or even a relatively good life and end up in HELL, you will a loser FOREVER.

      Newsflash, MOST CHURCH ATTENDERS WHO PROFESS CHRIST WILL END UP IN HELL

      Posts like this take the focus off what is really important. Are you willing to forsake all and become a LOSER here to follow Christ with him to eternity?

      I’m not saying this for entertainment sake. Really following Jesus will cost you your life.

      Luke 9:24-25
      For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me will save it. What good is it for someone to gain the whole world, and yet lose or forfeit their very self?

      Matthew 16:26
      For what is a man profited, if he shall gain the whole world, and lose his own soul? or what shall a man give in exchange for his soul?

      http://www.gotquestions.org/take-up-your-cross.html

      Instead of talking about formalities. Let’s talk about the issue at hand.

      Teaching a false gospel like this is the greatest sin. Because not only do you lead yourself away, YOU LEAD OTHERS AWAY.

      I’ve given up EVERYTHING for Christ including millions of dollars. And then Jesus said to me. I don’t care if you get married, have a good social life, have money, etc. I only care about one thing whether you will be with me in Paradise.

      Did Jesus or Paul not preach that you will suffer GREATLY on account of my name? What about that with great trials and tribulation that you will enter the kingdom of God?

      And you’re here ranting about how Jesus will get you that awesome spouse, career, or pick the right major for you? REALLY? God cares so much for your “vapor” of your life?

      Who is putting that emphasis on your very short(nano-second of a life) compared to ETERNITY?

      Jesus or the DEVIL.

      THE DEVIL IS VERY CONCERNED WITH HOW WELL YOUR VERY SHORT LIFE GOES HERE. and also very concerned that you do not get to heaven.

    2. To the original poster.

      If following Jesus MEANT that you would lose all your friends, gain 100lbs, NEVER GET MARRIED, work at a minimum wage job or no job, while graduating with the worst major.

      WOULD YOU STILL FOLLOW JESUS??

      Or would you only follow Jesus, if he gave you the perfect spouse, high paying job you love and a great EARTHLY LIFE.

      I’ve lost everything, a very lucrative career, social life and millions of dollars yet I STILL FOLLOW JESUS.

  3. Hey “Truth”, if this is what you really believe, then I dare you to read 1 Peter 5:7. Also, you should check out James 1:26, 1 Thessalonians 5:11, and also Ephesians 4:29! Have a blessed evening!

    1. Guess who else knew the bible well? Remember Jesus being tempted by the devil after his fast. Did Satan use verses out of the Satanic bible or the bible?

      IT WAS THE BIBLE WASN’T IT AND THE DEVIL KNOWS IT WELL.

      The pharisees knew the law and the old testament well. Are they in heaven now? And I know the bible probably way better than you. But that knowledge is worthless if you don’t know HIM. That is the dividing line.

      You want to know what Grace is? Read “All of Grace” by Spurgeon. He talks about real grace there. And that pursuit of real Grace will most likely lead to a messed up marriage, a messed up job or career, etc and choosing the wrong major.

      It’s not about knowing the bible. That’s your first mistake. Christianity is about knowing Christ and more importantly being KNOWN by Christ.

      How much faith do you have? If God told you to throw away your life and riches and follow him, would you? I did and say I lost everything in my earthly life to gain Christ. But the things I lost were small potatoes to what I gained.

      The cost of discipleship is YOUR LIFE. remember that.

  4. Hey dumbfuck

    God does not give a flying shit about your worries and cares about this life. READ THE VERSE BELOW.

    Whereas ye know not what shall be on the morrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapour, that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth away. – James 4:14

    Your life is a fucking vapor compared to eternity. Are you storing up your treasures in heaven? Where did Jesus instruct to store your treasures? in this vapor of a life?

    WTF. Are you fucking stupid or fucking stupid? 99% of “christians” are just religious people who don’t know Christ. They know about Him but don’t know Him. Imposters! Don’t believe these fucks.

    1. I should’ve included this in the reply, not a new comment. Sorry!

      Hey “Truth”, if this is what you really believe, then I dare you to read 1 Peter 5:7. Also, you should check out James 1:26, 1 Thessalonians 5:11, and also Ephesians 4:29! Have a blessed evening!

      and

      Also, three verses before the verse you are quoting with an improper view of context there lies this gem: “Brothers and sisters, do not slander one another.”

    2. The verse you quote there, James 4:14 when looked at in proper context means that your life can end instantly, that it is not yours to fully decided what to do with it because just like the wind it can come and go. Because if you look at the verses before and after it then that is exactly what it says. YOU do know what your life is because YOU are not in full control of it. You can’t pull on verse and claim something from it without looking at the verses before and after it. What you have done is taken it out of context.

      1. You read the bible like the devil does. Remember Satan tempting Jesus using bible verses.

        Answer me this question

        How long is your very short, vapor like, life of maybe 80 years(not guaranteed at all) compared to ETERNITY?

        How long is it? Even shorter than a vapor, even a nanosecond.

  5. I completely agree with this! I love the things you write. I’ve grown up learning these things about God but the one thing I need help with is that I don’t understand how to hear him. I see him everywhere I turn, and I feel him working through me but I just can’t grasp the concept of being able to hear him. Please help.

  6. Hey I have a pretty different perspective. I dont think its so complicated as boyfriends are a scratch off game and you have to keep praying over them until you’re positive that God has told you which has the prize underneath. I think it’s much more that God wants us to be active with our lives, utilizing our free will, and paying for our consequences. God wants us to work hard and we are made to exhaust ourselves. Do your best to pick a godly boyfriend for yourself and make things work- be the architect of your own life. Just always be prayerful and godly. God will nudge you along your way to where He needs- and if He sends and angel, listen to what they say!

    In their hearts humans plan their course, but the LORD establishes their steps.
    Proverbs 16:9 NIV

  7. Such authenticity, such worship, such wisdom from a young heart –

    Sincerely,
    An older heart that recognizes such things !!!

  8. Totally agree with you. ! It is one of the hardest truth’s to accept, “that his grace covers us.” would be easier to believe if I was told that God is going to punish me heavily for my sins but hard to believe that His Grace covers us.

    We are so undeserving of God’s grace yet God Proves his love for us again and again by covering us with his grace.

    What a Mighty God we serve.

    Thanks Anna. Wonderful Blog. Inspired by You.! Keep it going.

  9. Hi Anna, just stumbled on your blog and read this post. It is really encouraging to me right now as I am trying to transition from one place to another in my job/career. The waiting game and not getting an immediate answer can be difficult. I love how you tie grace into the process, and I wanted to just mention that grace has a very “punishing/pruning/teaching/chastening” aspect to it. Grace is actually what God uses to teach us to forsake ungodliness, to eventually stop worrying and sinning, and become more like Him over time — despite the painful process. Here is that verse below:

    Titus 2:11-12
    11 For the grace of God has appeared that offers salvation to all people. 12 It teaches us to say “No” to ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright and godly lives in this present age,”

    The word “teaches” in verse 12 is the greek word “paideuō” which is defined as the following:

    to train children
    to be instructed or taught or learn
    to cause one to learn
    to chastise
    to chastise or castigate with words, to correct
    of those who are moulding the character of others by reproof and admonition
    of God
    to chasten by the affliction of evils and calamities
    to chastise with blows, to scourge
    of a father punishing his son
    of a judge ordering one to be scourged
    KJV Translation Count — Total: 13x

    Just food for thought, and thanks again for the wonderfully encouraging post.

    John

  10. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve freaked out about relationships, practically demanding an answer from God in terms of what I should do. I let the fear of doing things wrong strip me of my joy. It’s like your knew the war that was playing out between my head and heart. This was so cool to read. I’m so thankful for your heart, and your willingness to be honest, Anna.

  11. Such a great job Anna! I feel like every time I read your posts, it just happens to be exactly what I need at that point in time! I am so blessed by you and God’s work in you. Keep going pretty lady, you’re touching lives!

  12. I love this post! Thanks for writing this – it speaks to me and many other people, I’m sure. I hope you and I can both walk trusting in the Lord.
    As for the sorority decision, you’ll make the right one. 🙂 I had to choose which sorority and whether or not I’d go with it…and in the end, everything turned out just fine.

Leave a Reply

